As Elegant as a 400 Year Old Manor House?!

While debating classic models of cars last night, I mentioned the Jag XJS and the convertible version that – a tad Birds of a Feather as it became known – was, to my mind, a classic and one of those symbols of luxury and wealth during my youth in the eighties. 

The strangest thing was that the person I was talking to didn’t recall it, so I went a searching and instead of the convertible ad, I found this:

This is the ad for the then-new Jaguar and, while I know it was the 80’s and car ads were a different beast to what they are now – is “as elegant as a 400 year-old manor house” the strangest possible metaphor used to describe a car?? I don’t think even Clarkson would’ve used that.

Leave a Reply

